Danish DFDS Crew Receives IMO Bravery Award

The crew of the DFDS ship BRITANNIA SEAWAYS receives the award for the courage displayed in a vehement fire on board in 2013.

On 19th June, the IMO Council agreed to present the internal Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea to the Captain and crew on board the DFDS ship BRITANNIA SEAWAYS. Thus, the IMO Council agreed with the decision of the Assessment Panel to present the award to the Danish crew. The award is awarded by United Nations’ International Maritime Organization (IMO).

The crew receives the award for the efforts made when a fire broke out on the ship on Saturday, 16 November 2013, while it was carrying military equipment along the Norwegian coast. It was an extensive fire with flames extending more than 30 metres in the air, extreme heat and explosions. Thanks to the professionalism and courage displayed by the Captain and the crew, they succeeded in getting the fire under control. Nobody among the 32 persons on board was injured, and a major pollution incident was prevented.

Britannia Seaways

Denmark has nominated the crew for the award. In the nomination, it is, inter alia, stressed that Captain Andreas Kristensen and his crew displayed great courage and sound seamanship when they fought the fire, while putting their own lives at risk.

”First and foremost, I would like to congratulate Captain Andreas Kristensen and the entire crew on board BRITANNIA SEAWAYS. This award is a distinguished recognition of the unique actions taken by the crew. There is no doubt that, during the fire, the crew went far beyond what was expected of them, not least considering the considerable danger they were facing,” says Director-General of the Danish Maritime Authority Andreas Nordseth.

The award will be presented to the Captain on behalf of the entire crew at a ceremony to be held in London on the opening day of the next session of the IMO Maritime Safety Committee, 17 November 2014.

The IMO Bravery Award has been instituted as a unique, international recognition of exceptional bravery displayed at sea in order to save the lives of others or to prevent pollution of the marine environment. The award was presented for the first time in 2007, and it is given on the basis of nominations by member States or interest organisations. This year, the IMO had received 35 nominations.

Reference & Image Credits: dma.dk


Disclaimer :
The information contained in this website is for general information purposes only. While we endeavour to keep the information up to date and correct, we make no representations or warranties of any kind, express or implied, about the completeness, accuracy, reliability, suitability or availability with respect to the website or the information, products, services, or related graphics contained on the website for any purpose. Any reliance you place on such information is therefore strictly at your own risk.

In no event will we be liable for any loss or damage including without limitation, indirect or consequential loss or damage, or any loss or damage whatsoever arising from loss of data or profits arising out of, or in connection with, the use of this website.

Do you have info to share with us ? Suggest a correction

About Author

Marine Insight News Network is a premier source for up-to-date, comprehensive, and insightful coverage of the maritime industry. Dedicated to offering the latest news, trends, and analyses in shipping, marine technology, regulations, and global maritime affairs, Marine Insight News Network prides itself on delivering accurate, engaging, and relevant information.

Subscribe To Our Newsletters

By subscribing, you agree to our Privacy Policy and may receive occasional deal communications; you can unsubscribe anytime.

Web Stories

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *