Update (No. 13): Incident Involving the Containership MOL Comfort

LinkedIn

Mitsui O.S.K. Lines, Ltd. updates the status of the containership MOL Comfort as of 23:00 JST (18:00 Dubai time) on June 27, 2013. The vessel could not continue sailing under its own power from June 17 because the hull fractured in 2 parts while under way on the Indian Ocean.

1. Vessel

The fore part is located near 16’05”N 68’34”E. The weather in the area is still adverse. The aft part, as already reported, sank at 16:48 JST (11:48 Dubai time) on June 27.                                                            

2. Containers

The fore part is being towed stably with majority of cargo aboard.

mol-comfort

3. Rescue of the cargo and hulls

We have contracted with a salvage company to rescue the cargo and hulls. We are towing the fore part toward the Arabian Gulf. We are keeping patrol boats to monitor the situation of oil leakage and floating containers in the area where the aft part sank.

4. Oil leakage

We confirmed no oil film around the fore part, while no large volume of oil leakage confirmed through the monitoring in the area where the aft part sank.

 

Get Free News Updates Daily

Sign-up below for more News, Articles, and Offers Submitted Directly to Your Inbox

Leave a Reply